Little bit of this, little bit of that

I’m quite sure I will finish the top till the end of the week, yay! Except I start to do a bunch of other stuff in the meantime, which wouldn’t surprise me, since I always wan’t to do more that I can… However, free pattern coming soon (as soon as I can take decent photos of the top).
Not so long ago I got this pretty coral red yarn as a birthday gift from a friend:

I knew immediately that I will make little mitts or fingerless gloves from it (I still haven’t decided which). Yesterday I casted on and this is how far I got:

It’s very pleasant easy knit and I think I can show you the “result” pretty soon, but I’m not promising.

Here’s a better shot of a necklace I showed you in my last post (that was taken with my video camera, this one is taken with my sisters phone):

Here’s the explanation how to make it:

I’m sorry but I don’t know how to draw this on a comp, so this is my best shot 😦
You can use thread and a needle for beads or fishing-line (no needle required) if the beads are big enough to pull the fishing-line twice throw them. I used thread and needle.
The thread has to be really really long, to avoid running out of it and making knots to add more thread (which is OK by the way, but there is no need to complicate the process, especially if it’s the first time you make a necklace from little beads), I suggest 2 meters/2.2 yards.
First attach one end of the thread to a jewelry clasp. Put 14 beads on the thread and pull the thread once more throw the 11th, make sure that you pull it severely (always). Put 5 beads on the thread and pull it throw the bead number 6 again. Follow the pattern, as you can see it repeats itself, so you will learn it very quickly and it will be easy after an inch of progress.
The length totally depends of your taste, it’s a good thing that you can try the necklace on while you are making it and see how long you wan’t it to be.
At the end knot the other part of a jewelry clasp to the end of the necklace.
You can use beads of the same color, or choose to use different colored ones where you pull the tread twice throw them (this even makes easier to follow the pattern), or use 3 different colors/3 shades of the same color for the 3 levels (beads 1-5, 5-10, 11-14), or mix a bunch of beads of different colors and use them randomly.
If you have any questions, feel free to ask it!

Cheers,
Mimi

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Little bit of this, little bit of that

  1. Wow, that necklace is beautiful! I’m impressed.

    And thank you for the tip about knitting with DPNs. Your trick seems to be working beautifully. And I feel stupid for not thinking of it myself.

    (also, your English is perfectly fine. Better, in fact, than many native speakers I know)

  2. That necklace!! Love it! So, where in the world is Mimi?

  3. I can’t believe you made that necklace. I was going to ask where you bought it 🙂

Leave a Reply

