This is it

I managed to finish my Citron, yay! Just in time for autumn. Here’s a crappy photo proof:

I promise to take pics with a normal camera (not the webcam like this time) soon, after the shawl is blocked.
Unblocked it measures 120 cm / 47.24 inc in width and 50 cm / 19.68 in in length. I don’t plan to block it severely because I like it as it is now.
I used up both skeins, there’s no leftover at all. In fact, I run out of yarn while binding off. So I was sitting there with the Citron on my lap and wondering what to do with the circa 50 sts on my LH needle. I saw two options, either to undo the bind off and tighten the sts in the last row to get a little bit more yarn (that may or may not be enough) or to look after a similar yarn in my stash. I chose the second option because I was too lazy to undo nearly 600 sts knowing that it might not work out well. I have other white yarn of the exact shade, just had to split it 2/3 because it’s that much thicker. Luckily it worked out perfectly, I’m unable to tell the difference, I have to find the knot to see where the “shouldn’t be there” yarn starts.
Since I’m very busy with my exams, this is all the knitting I managed to do this week.

Cheers,
Mimi

8 Comments

Filed under Knitting

8 responses to “This is it

  1. Yay! It looks great, and I think you did the right thing on the bindoff. I’ve had to do that before, and I honestly tend to forget about it. Way to save the situation! 🙂

  2. I can’t believe how quickly you finished this, it looks great! Good save on the substitute yarn for the bind off too, much better option than tinking 600 stitches 🙂

  3. Ooh, it is very cute!

    And I have no idea what makes me a faster knitter, although I have found that I really churn through the stitches when I’m listening to fast music or watching action movies.

  4. I’m impressed that you finished a project with exams going on. And I’m even more impressed at your solution for being short on yarn. It doesn’t show at all! I live in fear of running out of yarn at the very end like that!

    • Thank you! I have found that knitting helps me “clean” my brain after I have focused on something for hours. I study 2-3 hours, than make a coffee / tea / sandwich pause and knit a half an hour, than go back to study fresher. I am afraid too of running out of yarn, especially if I knit with a yarn from my stash that has been discontinued, so I usually by an extra skein (imagine how many untouched skeins I have in my leftover bag…).

Leave a Reply

