Just another summer top

It took me really long time to knit this one, mostly because of the pauses. My principal goal was to have a beige / eggshell / nude top, according to that I chose the yarn. Usually it’s the other way around; I see the yarn and fall in love with it, than I think of a project, estimate the amount needed and buy (but it still may end up being part of my stash). Another thing I noticed is that I tend to knit with recently bought yarns, the chances to pick a skein from my stash are inversely proportionals with the time that the said skein spent in my stash.

The yarn is 50% cotton 50 % rayon, 145 meters/50g. I have used up a little less than 200 g. This top has a lot of stockinette, and when knitting stockinette with 3 mm needles one gets easily bored, even frustrated. That’s why I started where the st sts and the lace meets. This way I could knit top down in a round until I lost interest in it, than just took my other 3 mm circulars and picked up the stitches for the lacy part.

Although the lace motif is nice, this top needed something little extra. That’s why I decided to leave the upper back free.

To make the back stay in place I used a rubber thread:

After the challenging decreases on the lace, it was nice to go back to the periodical increases and mindless knitting. To finish, I chose this border to create a balance between the upper (lace) and lower part of the garment:

Now I wonder what to knit next. Maybe I should sew a few summer dresses before casting on for something else.

Cheers,
Mimi

10 Comments

Filed under Knitting

10 responses to “Just another summer top

  1. caityrosey

    The back is a nice surprise. Unexpected.

  2. Beautiful and the back is a great idea!

  3. Really good job on the back! From the front it looks like ‘just another summer top’, nothing special, but the back view is a real stunner.
    Funny thing about yarn-choice and time spent in stash: For me it’s the other way round. The longer it’s been in my stash the more I feel guilty for not using it and try to find a project I can knit with it.

  4. WS

    That’s a beautiful top! Even more so for it being your own creation! Wow!

  5. What an amazing creation! You have so much talent!

Leave a Reply

